What are our means to the end? How will we make it from start to finish? Can we have means without means?

There are two definition to the word means that while it is the same word, both meanings are connected in thought as well.

  1. An action or system by which a result is brought about; a method.
  2. Money; financial resources.

While it is possible to have means without means, it is absolutely impossible to have means without means. What I mean to say is that you can have a plan without money but you will not have money without a plan. Sure you can out earn your stupidity for a while but life happens and our appetite generally improves at a much faster rate than our income. One day you can look yourself in the mirror and say “I did it”. I’m not sure what you did but you go girl; You lived paycheck to paycheck even though you had a six figure income. That is talent! I guess you are right, you don’t need a plan….

So with that off my hairy chest, let’s have means before we lose what means we have. Let’s make a plan. Let’s be intentional with our $$$. You have to be intentional about getting dressed in the morning right? You don’t put your pants on first before your underwear. Just because Superman can do it does not mean it’s cute. He can fly too you know.

So where do you start? If you have read any of my posts you will find that I love budgets. You probably knew I would talk about them when you first started reading this but I will say it again. You need to live on a budget. So what is a budget? I would say a good definition of it is “An action or system by which a result is brought about; a method.” = Means.

Our budgets can be as sophisticated as you want but I will not go there today or it can be a simple plan. My 6 and 8 year olds have a budget. It is simple, it does not need excel (dang it). It is so simple a child can do it so why don’t you???

Below it the formula for my children’s budget

  1. 10% Tithe – (Giving to the Church)
  2. 30% Saving – (long term saving for a car as they tell me. I think a pink jeep and a truck)
  3. 60% Spending – (Legos, Hot Wheels, Dolls)

So if the kids’ is that simple how simple is yours?

  1. 10% Tithe – (Giving to the Church)
  2. 30% Saving – (Retirement, Emergency fund, Auto, guns)
  3. 60% Spending – (Rent/Mortgage, food, gas, utilities, clothing…)

So I hope you get the idea that you don’t need a big elaborate plan for this stuff. It is just that you put money to work for you in different areas that you intend for it to go. So if you have money or if you don’t, now is the time to have a plan, to have a budget, to have a system, to have means.

